Mars vs. Venus

marsvenus1

When asked to design two individualized condos, one feminine, one masculine that appeal to young city dwellers, Jennifer Brouwer happily accepted the challenge. Both condos, mirrored suites, had to appeal to their target buyer while staying on budget.

marsMARS

The Buyer: A busy, male downtown professional seeking location investment and convenience.

  • The black, grey and gold colour scheme is hip and cool. This palette is much more modern for a bachelor pad than the traditional beige and dark wood pairing.
  • The patterned fabric on the stools mimics the deep contrast found  in the granite and creates a masculine inspired look.
  • The peninsula acts as a barrier from the entrance to help camouflage clutter or mess from an unexpected visitor.

 venusVENUS

The Buyer: A professional woman seeking a place where she can entertain in style.

  • The grey, winter white and mint green colour scheme is reminiscent of a spa or sanctuary.
  • The stools are covered in a winter white, textured chenille. This fabric is durable and washable.
  • The island creates the ultimate layout for traffic flow while entertaining, buffet style, or mingling while standing with a glass of wine in hand. The integration of an island also increased storage space in the kitchen which is on every woman’s wish list.

Kitchens Designed by Jennifer Brower, Photography by Valerie Wilcox

SOURCE LISTS

Mars:

  • Lighting, Union Lighting and Furnishings, www.unionlightingandfurnishings.com;
  • Console, Loyal Contracting, www.loyalcontracting.com;
  • Console Design, Jennifer Brouwer Design, www.jenniferbrouwerdesign.com;
  • Wallpaper, Crown Wallpaper and Fabrics, www.crownwallpaper.com;
  • Furniture, Jennifer Brouwer Design, www.jenniferbrouwerdesign.com;
  • Paint, Benjamin Moore, www.benjaminmoore.ca;
  • Hardware, Du Verre Hardware, www.duverre.com;
  • Back Splash, Olympia Tile, www.olympiatile.com;
  • Kitchen, Cartier Kitchens, www.cartierkitchens.com;
  • Mirrors, Cyan Design, www.cyandesign.biz;
  • Flooring, Sterling Tile, www.sterlingtile.com;
  • Art, Renwil, www.renwil.com

Venus:

  • Lighting, Union Lighting and Furnishings, www.unionlightingandfurnishings.com;
  • Custom Shades, Jennifer Brouwer Design, www.jenniferbrouwerdesign.com;
  • Wallpaper, Crown Wallpaper and Fabrics, www.crownwallpaper.com;
  • Furniture, Jennifer Brouwer Design, www.jenniferbrouwerdesign.com;
  • Paint, Benjamin Moore, www.benjaminmoore.ca;
  • Custom Cabinet, Loyal Contracting, www.loyalcontracting.com;
  • Carerra Finish, Amanda Immurs Fine Art
  • Flooring, Sterling Tile, www.sterlingtile.com;
  • Mirror, Uttermost, www.uttermost.com;
  • Carpeting, Kane Carpet, www.kanecarpet.com;
  • Counter Top, Cambria, www.cambriacanada.com

Written by Canadian Home Trends

Canadian Home Trends

Canadian Home Trends magazine gives you a personal tour of the most stunning homes and condos across Canada. You’ll be inspired by a selection of accessible home décor products, trend reports, simple yet stylish DIY projects, and much more. In each issue, you are given the tools to recreate designer spaces you’ve always dreamt of having at home, in-depth renovation and design advice, colour palette and furniture pairings, and Canada’s best places to shop.

About Canadian Home Trends 1575 Articles
Canadian Home Trends magazine gives you a personal tour of the most stunning homes and condos across Canada. You'll be inspired by a selection of accessible home décor products, trend reports, simple yet stylish DIY projects, and much more. In each issue, you are given the tools to recreate designer spaces you've always dreamt of having at home, in-depth renovation and design advice, colour palette and furniture pairings, and Canada's best places to shop.

1 Comment

  1. honestly i would have thought that the black white and grey color scheme would start to fade out of the design world but it has truely reinnovated itself and made an even bigger comeback in the design world. i should relook at my own design traits and maybe change it up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*